Thursday May 04, 2017
The BMR Rockets will have three riders in this season’s British Final following last night’s Semi-Final round at Sheffield.

7-time national champion Scott Nicholls finished second on the night with 11 points, and even had the luxury of a last place in his final race, while 3-time winner Chris Harris rattled in close behind on 10 points to make the cut with a point to spare.

The final qualification place went to Stuart Robson, who finished with 8 points on the night and was awarded eighth spot after a thrilling run-off alongside Lewis Bridger and Carl Wilkinson. With Bridger the clear leader, Robson and Wilkinson exchanged places over the first three laps of the decider before the Scunthorpe man straightened up on the third bend and both rides went down in an alarming crash. Wilkinson was excluded for the accident, but fortunately both he and Robson were able to walk away from the scene.

Rye House captain Edward Kennett missed out on a place in the run-off by a single point, despite two race wins on the night, while final Rocket Rob Branford soldiered through the evening for 3 points.

The British Final will take place at Belle Vue’s National Speedway Stadium in Manchester on Monday, June 19th.


Kyle Howarth 12, Scott Nicholls 11, Craig Cook 10, Chris Harris 10, Josh Auty 10, Lewis Kerr 10, Lewis Bridger 9, Stuart Robson 9, (after run-off - top eight qualify for British Final) Carl Wilkinson 9, Edward Kennett 8, Stefan Nielsen 7, Josh Bates 5, Simon Lambert 5, Robert Branford 3, Adam Roynon 2, Adam Ellis 0, Jack Parkinson-Blackburn (reserve) 0, Joe Lawlor (reserve) 0.

The eight qualifiers will join the eight who successfully navigated the other Semi-Final round at Newcastle on Sunday: Rory Schlein, Richie Worrall, Lewis Rose, Danny King, Jason Garrity, Paul Starke, Steve Worrall and Richard Lawson.